Nana’s GreenTea ••• A must for matcha lovers!

Since was it was an offday for your resident feline, I decided to hang around Plaza Singapura. As I was deciding what to eat,  Nana’s GreenTea came to mind. I always pass by it and ogle at the parfaits that the customers were indulging in. And because I am a huge matcha fan, I decided to give it a go!

I came on a Wednesday evening, around 7pm, and the place was not overly packed[like I have seen during lunchtime, mainly due to their set lunch special]. There were a handful of staff on the floor that made sure orders were promptly taken. I wasted no time in ordering as you can figure out what you want before you come through their online menu.

In less than 5 minutes, my Matcha Shiratama Float[$8.50] arrived. Took a sip of it as I did not want to ruin the whole meal picture I would take later. Instantly fell in love because it was not too sweet and bitter. The flavour was perfectly balanced and the shiratama dango was soft and chewy.

Soon after, the Chicken Nanban[$15.80] came, and it was more than expected! The chicken was LITERALLY fried to perfection and slathered with that glorious Kewpie mayonnaise. I liked how there were some greens at the side to put a dent in the sinfulness of the meal. The millet rice that Nana’s Green Tea uses was chewy[similar to glutinous rice but not as starchy] and the taste will make you go ‘Ah, this is Japanese’. There was a side of miso soup given to refresh your palette. I felt that this dish came together harmoniously.

I was already feeling FULL after that, but I just had to try one of their parfaits. I felt that the tables next to me were like ??? as the Matcha Shiratama Parfait[$11.80] arrived, but this is what solo eating entails and I get to have it all to myself! The parfait was top-notch as the cornflakes mixed well with the soft textures of the kanten jelly, mochi and the vanilla/matcha icecream. 100/10 would order again!!

Cost: $8.50[Matcha Shiratama Float] + $15.80 [Chicken Nanban] + $11.80 [Matcha Shiratama Parfait = $36.10

$36.10 + $6.39[Tax and Service charge] = $42.49

Verdict: I would most definitely patronize Nana’s GreenTea again. Service was fast and friendly, food was of good quality and it was extremely solo-friendly. Because of the price it would be a once in awhile thing. Thus, I might try to go again during lunch to take advantage of their lunch special!

Ordering/Payment method: Order at the table, payment at the counter.

Locations:  Only one outlet exists in Singapore. It is at the new section of Plaza Singapura Level 3.

The Atrium @ Orchard,
Plaza Singapura 60B,
Orchard Road, #03-80/82
Singapore 238891

Operating Hours:
Mon – Sun: 11am – 10pm

More details can be found at their website.

Until next time,

~( ^..^)tsC

Leave a Reply

